The 2016 wild land fire season is upon us! Remember to visit the Alaska Division of Forestry website and fill out the online form to obtain a burn permit.
Once you have your new burn permit, remember to call the number listed on the permit and listen to the Burn Advisory recording BEFORE you burn anything. It is your responsibility to make sure burning is allowed in your area prior to burning.
Burning in Alaska
- The majority of wildland fires in Alaska are caused by careless human activity.
- Alaska’s fire season is from April 1st to August 31st.
- Burn permits are required during fire season for all open burning, with a few exceptions.
- State laws and regulations pertaining to burning practices apply statewide all year. (AS 41.15.010-41.15-170 and 11 AAC95 Article 6).
- Burn permits are subject to burn restrictions, suspensions, and closures.
- All Burn Barrels require a burn permit and are subject to burn restrictions, suspensions and closures.
- Campfires and warming fires less than 3 feet x 3 feet do not need a general burn permit. Remember burn safely, have tools and water, and put the fire out before you leave.
- You are responsible for any fire you set or cause until it is ‘dead out’. Fully understand and follow safe burning practices.